Very Good Signage

Very Good Signage

Here we go. I am on a rant and I feel that this one is well deserved. Time and time again I watch independent retailers go out of business in decent centers and I see one MAJOR mistake that they make. They do not put a sign above their storefront and when allowed, they do not put a sign panel in the pylon sign. This is really retail 101 and business 101.

Several minutes ago, I was driving around a shopping center that I know very well and drove past a space that has turned over several times since the previous national tenant left a few years ago. Well, for some reason these operators do not put signs on their storefront. Sorry folks, “open and they will come” is not the way of the world. I know the landlord wants the user to put a sign above the space because it adds consistency to the center and vibrancy, but this tenant and many others do not seem to get it.

Here’s the bottom line as far as I am concerned, if you are not seeing the sales you desire and you do not have a sign above your store and any other available signage opportunities…shame on you. It is your fault! Anyone who is reading this blog and does not take advantage of the available signage is making a very costly mistake.

If you want to be the best, you have to play like the best and I assure you, McDonalds would NEVER open a store without some kind of sign, so why would you?

<Sigh> (This is one of those things that pushes my buttons.) I am stepping down from my soapbox now…

